Lorraine Dufour

Lorraine Dufour has been working in Québec cinema for over thirty years. In 1991, she and Robert Morin received the first ever Bell Canada Award from the Canada Council for the Arts, in recognition of the excellence of their body of work – numerous short- and medium-length videos, and the features, Tristesse modèle réduit (Scale-Model Sadness) (1988), nominated for a Gémeau for best film, and La réception (The Reception) (1989).

Dufour has produced and edited many films by Robert Morin: Requiem pour un beau sans-coeur (1992), winner of the Toronto City Award for Best Canadian Feature, the L. E. Ouimet-Molson award for best feature at the Rendez-Vous du Cinéma Québécois, and a Genie nomination for best film; Quiconque meurt, meurt à douleur (Whoever Dies, Dies in Pain) (1997), Le Nèg’ (2002), which won a Jutra for best editing; Windigo (1994); and finally, Que Dieu bénisse l’Amérique (May God Bless America) (2006), for which she was executive producer.

Dufour has also produced and edited the films of Louis Bélanger – Post Mortem (1999), winner of two Jutra’s for best film and best editing, and Gaz Bar Blues (2003) – and Catherine Martin – Mariages (Marriages) (2001). She also produced two documentaries by Bernard Émond: L’épreuve du feu (1997) and Le temps et le lieu (2000).

Among the many films and videos Dufour has produced, Quiconque meurt, meurt à douleur (Whoever Dies, Dies in Pain), L’épreuve du feu, Post Mortem, Gaz Bar Blues and Mariages (Marriages) all won awards from AQCC (l’Association Québécoise des Critiques de Cinéma).

In 2006, Lorraine was the executive producer of dans les villes (in the cities) by Catherine Martin, and Délivrez-moi (Forgive Me) by Denis Chouinard. She and Louis Bélanger also co-wrote The Timekeeper, a feature screenplay based on the novel by Trevor Ferguson, and she is developing other feature-film projects with Stefan Milijevic, Jeanne Crépeau and Isabelle Raynauld.